Don’t Get Your Theology From Christian Radio

christian-radioI like country music. Some of you just gagged a little I know…but I grew up listening to country music. However, one trip to Kroger with your radio on will tell you that most country music (or whatever genre is your cup of tea) is not written to cause you to worship God. For clarity sake, that doesn’t mean it’s wrong to listen to country music! But there are plenty of songs on the radio that you should probably avoid as they glorify a life that is not pleasing to God…

However, more concerning to me is the music and talk on “Christian Radio” (by the way I not a fan of calling it Christian Radio but I won’t get into that here). Here are a few reasons why it concerns me:

WHAT IS BEING SAID

It also only takes one trip to Kroger with the radio on to hear terrible, or at best questionable, theology blaring through you car speakers. Instead of trying to explain this on my own let me just give you an example I heard recently…

A man called into the radio station I was listening too and told a story…to quote him directly he said, “…I died and went to heaven…Jesus told me I had to come back…”

(On another note there is a popular book out right now where a little boy makes similar claims…)

Now, before you think I’m being overly critical and acting as if I “know” more than the people who make these statements, let me say that I don’t base these criticism because I think I “know” something…I don’t write this because I believe I have figured this stuff out on my own…I also don’t say these things to just be critical…I say them because I read these truths in the Bible…recently Phil Robertson (Duck Commander) received a lot of criticism because he called homosexuality a sin. In another interview when asked about his comments, he said, “I went to the only place he knew to go to find answers” on the subject of homosexuality…the Bible…he also said that just because he believed what the Bible teaches about homosexuality,  didn’t mean that he didn’t love people who were homosexual. It’s is with that same attitude I write this.

The bible gives us clear direction on how we are to evaluate these types of claims that one has gone to heaven and then returned to earth…

No one has ever gone to heaven and returned. But the Son of Man has come down from heaven.” John 3:13

No eye has seen, no ear has heard, and no mind has imagined what God has prepared for those who love him.” 1 Cor. 2:9

No one has ever seen God. The One and Only Son– the One who is at the Father’s side– He has revealed Him.” John 1:8

There are many other applicable passages but you get the point.

Now the caller may have had a vision from God, I don’t know, I don’t have any reason to think he was being dishonest about what he believed happened to him. But if he were to evaluate what happened with what the Bible teaches I think he would be compelled to explain his experience differently.

Whatever the case, the Scriptures teach that people don’t die, go to Heaven, and then come back.

WHAT IS BEING SUNG

It goes without saying that there is a lot of “Christian music” by people who genuinely love God and want to please him!

But (and this is a loud “but”), a person can be genuine in what they do (or sing) and be genuinely wrong!  

I won’t go into particular songs that fit into this category but the next time you are driving along belting out the latest hits on Christian radio listen to the words a little more closely…are they teaching a truth that aligns with the Bible? Or are they glorifying man and making worship more about you (the worshiper) than God (the now worthy of that worship)?  Are you singing something that is moving or beautiful but simply does not align with the teachings of the Bible?

I guess that is a long way of saying…Don’t get your theology from Christian Radio…get it from the Word of God.

Leave a Reply

